Justin Trudeau Imposes Additional Sanctions on Russia Over Ukraine

Canada’s federal government has imposed additional sanctions on Russia, in response to the full-scale invasion of Ukraine.

On Thursday, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced further sanctions against Russia, this time cancelling existing export permits and halting the issuance of new ones to the eastern European country, as G7 members escalate their reprisal of Russian President Vladimir Putin’s assault on Ukraine. The new sanctions will also target 58 prominent Russian individuals including the ministers of justice, defence, and finance, as well various entities including banks.

“These sanctions are wide reaching, they will impose severe costs on complicit Russian elites, and they will limit President Putin’s ability to continue funding this unjustified invasion,” said Trudeau, referring to an earlier meeting with G7 leaders.

In addition, the Liberal government will also focus on expediting immigration applications for Ukrainian citizens looking to seek refuge in Canada, while arranging safe modes of transportation out of the eastern European country for Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

Information for this briefing was found via the Government of Canada. The author has no securities or affiliations related to this organization. Not a recommendation to buy or sell. Always do additional research and consult a professional before purchasing a security. The author holds no licenses.

Leave a Reply